Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Dec. 25th - 2009-12-26

Xmas is officially over here, and I missed sending holiday wishes to some of my friends, both old and cyber-. I feel kind of bad about that, but then there were plenty of years I didn't send holiday wishes because I just couldn't bear to have even that much more of the holiday in my face. So, maybe it's progress?

I DID manage to phone one of my oldest friends just before sundown to wish her a happy birthday. She somehow got my phone number and called me a couple of months ago. A blast from the past, a voice from the blue, and we talked and got a little teary and talked some more. Way back when, when TH and I first moved to New England, she was our first babysitter. She had a daughter 6 mos. younger than D2. We became friends.

CS, her initials, has somehow stayed a friend through various moves and bits of excitement. We've never had a fight and the only problem I have with the friendship is that she utterly, totally, tires me out. She is an extremely high energy person, and from the moment she walks in the door and starts talking, I can't rest or draw a calm breath until she leaves. It's not just high metabolism, it's... well, I don't know how to say it, but if you know anyone like her you'll know what I mean.

I don't know what, if any, problems she may have with our relationship. We've lost touch any number of times, and never for terribly long until I moved to Israel.

Anyway, since she phoned me I'd been kind of keeping it in my mind to phone on her birthday. I almost missed it - I remembered at literally the last moment. I sent S1 running for the voip phone while I lit the sabbath candles 'with intent.' That means that while I was welcoming the sabbath into my home, I kept in mind that one thing I intended to accomplish between candle-lighting and actual sundown, the true start of shabbos.

I am SO glad that I did. She is apparently having a hard time. Her heater isn't working, something to do with the oil pump? I dunno. So she's trying to heat up some portion of her (large, old New England) house using electric space heaters. On Xmas! Her younger daughter still lives with her, so some sort of Xmas celebrations will have been planned, that probably didn't include trying to stave off frostbite.

CS's used to having her birthday forgotten or over-powered by the Xmas holiday, and was really surprized and very happy that I had remembered it. I told her I'd called to wish her happy birthday, and a happy holiday, and told her I was sorry I'd missed her older daughter's birthday (Dec. 21). Younger daughter's birthday is in Sept.

CS was crying, I trust because she was happy, or rather, it was such a good thing on such an awful morning. I was really sorry I couldn't stay on longer, but since it was just about shabbos, I could only repeat how much I love her and that she is a wonderful person and the birthday and holiday wishes. I must remember to try to call again in less than three months. Some time when I have enough energy to talk with her. Because, I am crippled, and she is exhausting.

***

It was a very, very full day for me. I woke up around 7am after maybe two hours' sleep. Managed to eat breakfast and to dress, but not to get clean in a shower or bath (sadness). Fortunately I have a very nice spray which is perfect for these occasions, so I left the house smelling rather more spicy than sweaty, if that isn't too much information. Or, even if it is, I suppose, since I'm not deleting it.

***

RS just phoned. Not an emergency I hope. Must answer it though.

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06