Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Just popping in - 2010-05-30

I'm grateful for: doing WAY better; being able to make a difference; working computers, all of them, and the internet, and ethernet cables, and, and, and... :-)

I'm just popping in to say 'hi.' I'm kind of amazed, mind-boggled even, how my life has morphed, changed, such that I literally don't have time to check in here too many days. I'm not complaining, as much as I miss people here, because I'm doing stuff, I'm having a real life, and that is a blessing beyond anything with bits and bytes.

There's a photo of the orphan chick and his moms on my fotolog now. I haven't been out to see the chickens, or feed the goats, or even sit on the mirpesset for days. I've been too busy for that, too. But I am doing so much better I have no doubt that I will be able to just sit out there someday soon, even if only for a little while, to read some Hebrew, or some poetry, or to knit a little while watching the critters. Or to fold laundry, another favourite passtime. *sigh*

Today was a truly horrid day. I felt awful, I didn't get any sleep last night due to critters. Coming in and going out and fighting. I have NO idea what got into them, but it messed up my sleep, and then I was awakened by a dog early this morning who wanted out of my room. Nobody else was up, so I had to get up, let the dog out, let another dog in, go to the bathroom, &tc., &tc., and that shot any hope I had of falling back asleep.

The rest of the day was just rotten, with me in a foul mood, and my body out of sorts (doing well doesn't necessarily mean *feeling* well). I got a bunch of stuff done, including reading Hebrew, studying, watching some biology videos (in Hebrew) with S3, knitting, and I don't know what all else.

I did finally get a tiny bit of a nap around supper time, so I had a late supper. TH and I just had a fun evening together, though, reading aloud with S3, playing a rail game, watching some old Dr. Wh0. Then I got the laundry put away, socks matched, books sorted and some gotten rid of to make room for others that made it on the shelves. The books are still far from organized, but it's a bit better again.

I also got the corners cleaned out - an ongoing project, with dog hair and sheets and whatnot ending up in them endlessly. In the family room and in the salon. A box and a bin put in the younger boys' room, chairs arranged and so on. It felt really good, things look better. Except that now I can see how much dust there really is, but it is still better.

Tomorrow the Hebrew teacher comes, and I need to get a bath and TH and I have our night together. Absolutely nothing else on the schedule, and he can't even work because of the long holiday in the U.S. A treat for us.

I'm having my second regular period since the surgery, and I am not enjoying it, but I guess it's a good sign. *wry grin* I have always bled like a stuck pig, and it's not gotten any better with age and having children. One thing, though, is it's being far less painful than it was last time. I still wish it would just go away again. If I'm not going to have more children, then this is a waste of my precious time and energy. *I* think. Too bad I'm not in charge.

Is there anything else? Money is tight, tight, tight, and TH has three job possibilities that might work out, all at banks. That would be a major blessing if he got a new job. The company he is at pays so far below industry standard that at this point simply by moving to a new company - ANY new company - his take-home should go up in the range of 20%. That is outrageous, and one of the reasons I am so desperate that he should get a different job.

Another reason is that with the flex-time situation he has now, he is honestly looking forward to the idea of going in to work at the same time every day five days a week. Isn't that sad? It says a whole lot that having a standard work week would be better than working from home three days a week. The things is, even with the telecommuting, his time is never his own, and I never have access to the car. Okay, almost never.

His company doesn't hesitate to phone him to work, sometimes seven days a week. They phone at supper time, at breakfast time, you name it. On days he goes into the office he comes home and they still phone him here and expect him to work. He hasn't had a real vacation ever because even when he is supposedly on vacation they call him with questions and for help with things. At this point, going in to work five days a week, knowing that when you left work, it stayed there, would be so much better. *sigh*

Also, where he works is impossible to get to. There is no possibility that I could drive him to the train station or a bus station and then have the car for the day. The best options using bus and/or train have him taking over three hours to get to work or home from work. Just about any new job would be in Tel Aviv, and all buses go to Tel Aviv. And there's a fellow on the moshav who commutes to Tel Aviv everyday, also in computers and also a homeschooler (funny old world), with whom he could share rides. I don't know how I'd cope with the freedom of being able to get in a car and go reliably, but I think I could get used to it.

So, prayers, positive thoughts, good vibrations, or whatever towards TH getting a new, more lucrative, better located job. With a car. :-)

Oy I thought of something else, and then I *really* must be going, it being after midnight.

S2 has moved on, he's got a new job and a new tag, he's at a base doing a course which will supposedly set him up for life after the army, the job skills being hugely in demand worldwide. He's not happy because he's back in basic, essentially, but it's only a seven week course and then he gets his own desk and computer and even an office with a door he can close! I mean! I'd be jealous if I were a working stiff. As a cripple I can only be slightly dazed and delighted. ;-)

Okay, gotta go get some of that sleep so I hopefully won't be quite so miserable and cranky tomorrow.

I'm listening to Gorillaz: Stylo

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06