Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

An ordinary day - 2006-09-15

I'm grateful for: having fun with my children; a night without Eliyahu; not worrying about money for a few moments there.

I love, love, love when my email takes a break. I even wrote a long-ish email to someone today I had no need to write to. Just because. I will, of course, pay for this when my inbox floods again and I am struggling to not go under from the amount of email I have to answer. But what the hell. I enjoyed it today.

What's been happening? Besides my emotional problems, legion and on-going. Well, John made an appointment for us to view this house tomorrow, which we are all hoping is entirely unsuitable for a variety of reasons, not the least being that there is no way we can afford it today. In a few months, maybe, but not today. Also, I really don't want to move to a house in a city, be it never so nice, KNOWING I'm going to want to move again. I'd really so much rather move to a house which I could be content staying the rest of my life in. I'm not saying I will, that's up to Hashem. I just want it to be possible. Still, we go to see the house, most of the family wants to go, and who knows what will happen? If Hashem wants us in this house He will make it happen. If He doesn't, then He will provide something else. In the meantime, I'm dreaming of large gardens, a shorter commute for Havva, and all kinds of amenities. *sigh*

We are going out early tomorrow to the shuk to do some shopping for the week. And after that, to the house viewing. 'We' includes me this time. I really hope I am able to wake up and function for this. At worst, will go to Kfar Saba to do the shopping there, but I really like the shuk and the prices there are the best.

Today I woke up relatively early, considering how late I was up last night. It was a quiet, pleasant day for the most part. A friend, Shana, stopped by with her new little one (four months), and we had a wonderful visit. I will miss her if/when we move from here. We don't see each other often, but when we do it is always good. Her husband does landscaping and gardening in the yeshuv, and I asked if he could possibly use some help. It is possible this will land Hans a job, even part time and/or temporary, which would be a very good thing. He's eighteen and stuck sitting around the house reading, playing computer games, and watching the occasional movie because he's simply got nothing else to do. More problems with life in suburbia.

Actually, he does one other thing, which is to play hockey (on roller-blades) with some of the other boys. So, it's not all bad. :-) Still, it's time he was able to move on a bit with his life, and while the army has him in limbo his options are very limited.

After Shana's visit, I took care of some things. Going over the account statement (we finally got after almost five months!) from Bank Mizrachi and figuring out what's been going on with that account. Copying over some recipes to new, clean paper so the kids can stop further destroying the cookbooks they are in. Both the cookbooks and the recipes are well-loved, and we want to preserve them as much as possible. This is the method of choice for now.

Played some Kingdom of Loathing. Was in a foul mood talking to John, Havva and Neil on the phone (Neil went to Kfar Saba to get his hair cut. I can't tell any difference, but I had the sense not to tell him that). I really hate it when the phone rings and I am in the middle of something. I know people can't tell when I am or am not in the middle of something, but why don't I then have the option of not answering, if it is inconvenient for me? I don't get that. Maybe we could work out some kind of code so that I could tell by the rings, or something, if the call was urgent or just calling to chat. Worth thinking about.

John got home a little late because of a roadblock on the way home. Never found out what that was about. I took a bit of a nap so that I missed supper and Havva coming home. Havva is officially a sargeant today. Yeaaa!

So when I did get up we kind of dashed out the door (I felt bad about that, 'cause I really was enjoying the few moments I got to be outside with my kids). But didn't make it to the kenyone we usually go to. Perry, the pharmacist who was going to exchange some money for me, was seen racing for home, which meant not being able to change the money, and we haven't got that much to start with.

We could have gone to Kfar Saba to change it, but that would have been a huge pain, so instead we ended up just hanging out in the kenyone here in our yeshuv. I hardly ever go there, and was reminded of why. There just isn't anything there to draw a person, unless you have particular shopping to do. As it was we did buy a couple of new dvd's (Cars and The Break-up - if I remember that second title correctly). And picked up some 'healthy' ice-cream sandwiches, and organic cereal and some supposedly environmentally friends dishwasher detergent.

Then we came home, nothing to do, I finally had some supper (home-made falafel and some of Havva's cake that she had brought to work for her promotion). John and I went upstairs and played a game of Iron Dragon, not much fun actually but I won in a surprize upset, so that was pretty cool. And that's about it. As unexciting a day as one could wish for, I guess. I really wanted to buy a board game - something I could have fun playing with the kids in ones and twos (I can't stand huge multi-player board games). No luck on that, there was absolutely nothing. Oh, well.

And I am kind of falling over tired, so, Hashem willing I will actually get some sleep tonight. Or it will be like every other night this week, and I won't. Either way, tomorrow morning I am likely to be grouchy, grumpy and a joy to be with. :-)

Oh, I played a Hebrew word game with Eliyahu today, and he was actually willing and interested, wanting to know what a certain letter looked like, or how a word was spelled. So that is really good, for both of us.

I'm listening to The Red Line, Zechy is watching it in the next room.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06