Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sleep - 2006-10-09

I'm grateful for: Not being who I used to be; another quiet day; spending time in the succah.

Last night, after I shut down the computer, and tried to sleep, Eliyahu kept waking up, almost every ten minutes, announcing "I'm scared!" and being asleep again before I could do more than put an arm around him. I didn't sleep very well.

I woke up today, around nine. Then went back to bed for a while to try and maybe catch up on some sleep. Nothing doing, though, so I came downstairs. John made me breakfast and then took off for Ra'anana to get me some meat and to have his teeth x-rayed. With a stop in Kfar Saba to pick up my tofess - that's the letter from the health fund saying they will pay for my visit to a neuro at Tel HaShomer. Pre-approval I think they would call it at an HMO in the states.

It was a quiet, uneventful day mostly. Neil managed to really piss me off. Without going into the whole stupid story he was being a dickhead, and I let him get to me. SUCH a dickhead. He has, in the past, volunteered information which was not asked for nor appreciated, with the tone of a judge handing down a decision.

So today, in a free discussion (about something stupid, like who played a particular role in a movie) he announced that he knew the answer but wouldn't say it because in the past he been told he was wrong. What!?! Dickheaded in the extreme. I might be describing it badly, but trust me, I was there. None of the kids present was bothered, but it really irked me. I know it's all part of his gradually becoming slightly more socialized, and he is going to go through many more things like this. I only hope I can manage not to kill him before he either can line on his own or he gets through this particularly difficult adolescent stage of his.

Other than that a pleasant day. I took the laptop out to the succah, and spent some pleasant time in there with the dog and several of the children. John got home with the meat while I was sitting in the succah, and made me a sausage sandwich so I was able to eat in the succah as well.

After which, I went upstairs to rest and slept until suppertime. I guess I needed the sleep. ;-)

After supper I watched the second half of Casablanca with Havva and finished up something on the laptop. Simcha has a needlework that she wanted to make into a pillow, and had started on it, but John came along and suggested she was doing it wrong, which got her so flustered she just set it aside to rot or something. So I suggested she bring it up, and I showed her how to go about sewing a backing onto the needlework, and what kind of stitch to use (she is a beginning seamstress, the stitches might be correct, but so irregular!). She had never gotten how to knot the thread, either, so I showed her that. So many simple little skills that could be complete lost in a single generation. No one sews by hand anymore it seems.

She got it about halfway stitched up and announced that her hand hurt, so I guess she'll probably set it aside again for a while. But she is learning skills that will hopefully be with her her whole life. So just at the moment I'm not feeling like such a slug about my children's education.

After Casablanca was Eliyahu's bedtime, so I read aloud a few chapters from the Megamorphs book we've been reading. After he went to bed I came downstairs again. John suggested a game, and he and Zechy and I played Iron Dragon together. It was terrific fun for me. Not so much fun for John I'm sorry to say. Zechy and I get along better than any other two people in this house, and we were joking with each other and sharing ideas (I was helping him figure out what to do when he couldn't make head or tail of the cards). John had lousy cards, the game didn't go well for him, and he was largely not participating in Zechy's and my fun and banter. So I had a great time. And I won. I think Zechy had a great time. And John seemed happy enough when it was over. He was pretty tired, so that probably contributed, too.

I am pretty tired also, but while my being tired often produces a feeling of light-hearted fun, in John it only seems to drag him downward. At least that's what I've observed so far. And he far too often shorts himself on sleep for lousy reasons or none at all. I'm a fine one to speak, here I am typing at 1:30am and I *could* have gone to bed just around midnight. But I definitely seem to handle the sleep deprivation better than he does. That is quite an interesting thought, one I need to mull over some more. Curious.

John is planning on Wednesday to drive down to the moshav in the northeastern Negev, the one that feels so haemish to me, and join them for some davening. It is a wonderful way to introduce himself to the community, and the rabbi. Since we really think we want to live there, this will demonstrate a level of commitment to the community as well. So we will miss him on Wednesday, but will surely appreciate the effects. I hope.

Must think, though, I'm not sure that Wednesday is the right day for it. We have plans to go to the Dead Sea on Thursday. We'll just have to see.

On an unrelated note, I have photos I haven't been putting up in my fotolog. I have good intentions, but there just hasn't been time. It's one of those things I need at least a little bit of dedicated brain for. Hopefully it will happen soon. I have to back up my photos and clear my cards for the trip to the Dead Sea. Or HaYam HaMelach, as it is named here (translates into The Salt Sea).

And that's all for tonight. My life has not been particularly exciting I guess. I like that in a life, really. I'm off now, hoping to sleep more than just in ten to fifteen minute increments. Wish me luck!

I'm listening to Yehoram Gaon: Rosa (from the Kazablan soundtrack)

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06