Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Gotta run - 2006-10-17

I'm grateful for: loads of information, and terrific people in my life; possibly having a home in the near future; a check in the mail

I haven't had time to read any favourites. No surprize there I suppose. I spent way too much time today on the phone. A good thing, as I was gathering information. But it surely eats into my day, my energy and my patience.

I got lots of information, but very little of it concrete, besides a name and phone number of someone who supposedly knows an awful lot of the ins and outs of homeschooling in Israel. There was an almost universal agreement that we have to get the hell out of here. The only reason I say 'almost' is that I am loathe to make global generalizations. It's not like anyone suggested we *stay* that's for sure.

John talked to his boss about it. Laid out the whole situation (he says) honestly, and suggested that if they wanted to help we could really use a sizable loan right about now. Apparently this is something that is being looked at favourably by management, but no idea when we might have an answer. Also he phoned the contact I got, and also got a phone call from someone he'd spoken to last night, with a name and phone number of a lawyer. He is planning on phoning the lawyer tomorrow.

He also went down to Shoqeda tonight (it was quite a busy day). He made contact with the rabbi, and several of the influential members of the moshav. We also have a likely house, but there's some issue that we don't understand (small town politics) that we have to be very secret about it, and look at the rabbis suggestions first. Everyone defers to the rabbi here, and in this particular instance, it seems like a good sign regarding the rabbi.

So we have to look at or at least consider homes the rabbi might find for us before we could take this guy up on the offer of his house. It sounds about perfect for us so far. And he wants to rent or sell, whichever, so presumably we could rent it until we are sure we want to buy into the moshav. Sounds good to me.

I've had some conflicting advice regarding the home visit and writing the letter of intent. I really don't want to let the woman into my home, but if I do have to, I have a bit of a plan. We are going to fill the kitchen, and salon, and really any visible space with boxes and signs of packing. And the first words I intend to say to her are to apologize for the mess but we are moving... It is well known that we've been planning on leaving Karnei for a while, so there is no reason for her to assume this is because of her. She might anyway, but what the hell. If we are out of here, that is her problem.

Then a heck of a surprize. We got a phonecall from my sister. My mother had phoned her to tell her she had sold her condo, and was sending me a check. She didn't want Diana to tell me about it, she said she wanted it to be a surprize. I'll be surprized all right, especially if it shows up this month. Diana said that mother said that she mailed it on Friday. No clue as to the amount, though.

John and I watched about half of Fire on the Amazon tonight. It's a movie from 1993 with Sandra Bullock. Oh. My. Gd. It is SO bad. I could only hope it was a very early movie of hers - otherwise I would just have to lose all respect for her. Fortunately it is basically from the beginning of her career. So that's good. I'll finish it, not because the ending is at all in question, but I hate to leave things half finished. A relic of life with my mother.

I've probably made quite the mess of this, but it's after 1am and I am very tired. I did finally write the thank-you note for The Twilight Zone dvds, thank goodness. Good to have gotten that out before the check arrives. And the house is full of laundry and I have to talk to Tzvia but she didn't call me back tonight about Simcha going down for a visit hopefully on Wednesday. Which really isn't related except I wanted to get it down.

Scary, exciting, unpredictable, stressful, worrying, uncertain, joyful, happy, delightful, risky, beautiful, hard, ... life is very good today.

Hans wanted to have a serious talk with me tonight. He was upset about something I said last week. Something that I knew upset him and should have done my best to correct before he came to talk to me about it. But I think it is good that he figured out it was bothering him and initiated the conversation, so maybe it's for the best. We agreed to disagree on a couple of things, and I pointed out that since I am a 40-something married woman and he is an 18-year-old boy, it would be quite marvelous (and probably not healthy) if we didn't disagree on a lot of things. He liked that.

Okay, I'm sure there is loads more I've forgotten to write down, but this has to be enough. I'm tired, and while tomorrow should be quiet, Wednesday looks like it's going to be another hell of a day.

Tomorrow, pizza for supper! Yeaaaaa

I'm listening to absolutely nothing in particular

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06