Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Red Dawn - 2007-02-09

I'm grateful for: faith; a much cleaner house; our new dvd player.

Well, that was exciting. Apparently John was walking with Simcha when the loudspeakers started blasting 'Tzeva Adom - Tzeva Adom.' That's the 'red dawn' warning system for a missile attack.

John came racing back to the house (with Simcha I'm sure) and reached the house just in time to hear a loud boom just to the west.

Judging by past experience (not that we have any personally but we do keep up with the news) they were probably aiming for Netivot, which is west of us. Their aim (Barukh Hashem) is terrible.

The alarm went off at Kfar Maimon (2 km north of us) as well, so that's two missiles. Probably won't make the news anywhere but it surely is a bit exciting for us. I'd be lying if I said my heart didn't race a bit. But this has been going on for years down here. There's no point in flapping arms and running around like a crazed chicken.

I wish - I often wish - that our country would just stop worrying about what the rest of the world thinks, or whether or not the rest of the world approves, or waiting for the rest of the world to recognize that these attacks launched against our country are illegal, evil acts of war against a civilian population. And just blow them all to kingdom come.

Of course, that's not going to happen. And, ideally that's not how I would want things to be resolved. But - you make them stop shooting at you. THEN you talk. That's how it's worked for all of human history. Because that's what works. Not this we let them shoot at us while trying to make them/encourage them to talk to us nicely. It's bullshit.

So, pursuant to that, we (family) had a bit of a serious talk. Because this is most likely the beginning of more attacks, not an isolated incident (since they have these longer range rockets now). Basically I informed John and the older children that if there is a need to go to the bomb shelter (obviously tonight it was moot) that they should go. DO NOT worry about me, do not stop and try and drag me along. They should just go. I'll be fine here, really. Or if I'm not, it's because it's Hashem's will. There is no way I could make it to the shelter, and even if I could, I couldn't make it down the stairs. It would just be foolishness for any of them to be hurt or (Gd forbid) killed because they waited for me.

I'm sure that if it were necessary to go to the shelter there would probably be enough chaos that no one would be thinking that clearly anyway. But at least it's been said. It should help a little bit if/when.

But while my heart may have pounded for a bit, it is nothing compared to what the dogs went through. Poor things. Some of them are still barking, and they are not happy critters. The cats already couldn't care. Go cats.

I was toying with the idea of emailing a bunch of people with the news, but, that's just silly. The people who care would be unnecessarily worried/upset, and those that don't wouldn't suddenly start to care because we've gotten to experience our first rocket attack.

I still occasionally have the urge to try and rub people's noses in how it really is here. Like so many other people, jumping up and down screaming about media bias and why can't people see and all that. I am, slowly, getting over it. I'm far from all better, but at least I know that my desire to force people to see doesn't help me or change them.

On a related note, I got an email from my mother today.

I want to write about my day, but just now I'm too tired. The excitement, heart-pounding stuff isn't good for me, and I must rest.

I'm listening to Richard Thompson: I Feel So Good

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06