Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sleep, must sleep - 2007-02-14

I'm grateful for: about eight hours sleep; a useable salon; yummy soup made.

Not much to say. It's about 1:30am, and I am so sleepy. I got about eight hours of sleep last night, and of course I feel more tired. Must have more sleep.

We moved furniture around some more. One big plus to all of this is that I now have an ethernet connection instead of having to use airport. Much faster I hope.

All the furniture in the salon was pretty much moved about. It's a much nicer space with more room and more light. There is a sofa and a loveseat in addition to four or five (I forget) bookshelves. If we wanted to we could even pull the dining table away from the wall and use it as a dining table. Which would be very nice.

I didn't make it to the shuk, but a neighbour, giveret Simcha, stopped by for a brief visit. She's a very nice old lady -apparently matriarch to most of the people living on this side of the moshav. I'm invited to hang out at her place any time. I'd be more likely to take her up on it if I spoke more Hebrew - or if her Hebrew was less Moroccan.

I supervised Havva making soup. I think it was the best yet, but I haven't heard what she thought. It was heavy on things like onions and leeks in addition to the potatoes and carrots and so forth. Very yummy. And Havva did it all, I just suggested things and handed her vegetables and peeled the garlic and so on. I'm aiming for her to be able to make soup she likes without needing my input.

She also had her first (in Israel) driving lesson today. It seems to have gone well, despite the fact that she was very nervous. She drives quite well, but I guess the instructor didn't get to see that today. There's plenty of time, though.

And she and John talked to the rabbi about the creep that hassled her the other night. Apparently he's a known problem - and has some sort of problems beyond that. The rabbi offered to talk to his father and brothers - apparently there's no point in talking to him directly. I don't know what is wrong with him, but as long as he leaves Havva (and the rest of us) alone, I don't care. My opinion of the rabbi continues to by very high. And John actually stood up for his daughter. A day late and a pound shy (I had to tear into him today first, before he even would talk to the rabbi - he was going to let the whole thing slide rather than have to do a scary confrontation). But after I told him off good, he mustered some backbone and there it is.

I wanted to ask him afterward, doesn't it feel better to have done the right thing despite being afraid? Don't you feel better about yourself? But I didn't. I suppose that is a good thing. I am so tired of dealing with this kind of crap with the men in my life.

I'm going to sleep now. I wrote much more than I'd thought. I'm glad, though. It's all stuff I want in here. And maybe if I manage another full night's sleep I'll be able to feel a little bit - dare I say it - better tomorrow? Okay, I can but hope.

I'm listening to various clickings of computer and clock, and someone snoring - very loudly since it's in another room and through my closed door at least.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06