Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Only two more days - 2007-03-06

I'm grateful for: a nice invasion; more room in my room; spending time with my family.

Rats, it's after midnight again. But today was just going like that.

We got the final word on Hans' ticket. They screwed it up and his ticket is for Wednesday night(Thursday am) instead of Thursday night(Friday am) that we asked for. In a way it's a good thing. Sometimes the last few days before a parting are interminable, and we won't have that problem.

I've been giving him some 'good advice.' I'd been able to avoid doing that for most of the time so far, and as he is getting close to leaving I suppose it's okay. I need to not overdo it. And not fret too much. And - oh - I am so not ready for this.

Today I actually woke up after more than eight hours sleep. Alright, after I had woken up after about five hours sleep, and then seven. But each time I succeeded in getting some more sleep, and have felt more human than I have in a long time.

It didn't mean I could do a lot more. I did get some laundry sorted and started at least one load (I honestly can't remember). I got some things moved about in my room, and there is more space, and it is more livable. So that's good.

After John came home from work we got ready to go out on a shopping expedition to Ashkelon, only as we were getting ready a whole huge group of people showed up on our front lawn. I had no clue who they were, but they seemed friendly enough. Mostly women and girls, but a few little guys in the group.

It turns out they were the daughter (and a daughter-in-law) of our landlord with all of the grandchildren who wanted to see the house their savta (grandmother) had lived in. It was very sweet. So the whole horde of them came tramping through the house, looking in all the rooms, trying to envision it when all our stuff wasn't here I expect.

They said many complimentary things, and asked how we liked the house and the moshav. The also looked at the work we've been doing on the small house, and were very happy and excited that we are fixing it up. The younger kids (which was most of them) were thrilled with the chickens. We had some bread set out for them that our neighbour Meier leaves for them and we let the kids feed them. One of the youngest ones crawled into the chicken coop.

After that they wandered across the back yard and checked out the lul (the large chicken house that came with the meshek - moshav property), and were heading across the fields. At that point we went back inside and finished getting ready to go.

Zechy and Simcha and Eliyahu came with John and I, and we drove off to buy Zechy some jeans, and Simcha wanted to buy beads, and some party supplies for Hans' going-away-party she has planned for tomorrow night. Eliyahu just wanted to come. John and I had a bit of a tiff at the store. I was looking at a shirt I liked and he was a shithead about it. So we bought what was on the shopping list and no more, came home, and instead of taking some time to be alone together as we theoretically should be doing on a Monday night, he combed out El'yah's hair and read him a bit of the andalite chronicles, and I tried to do some research on the web. He was more successful than I was.

We did watch some of the Honeymooners, and then chatted with Havva and Hans (and Simcha who joined us), and played with the dogs for a while. Instead of going to bed. Which is why I'm typing this at 12:30am instead of being in bed long ago. With Hans leaving so soon I don't grudge it.

I wonder if I will cry for four weeks, like I did when Havva went to Israel? I guess I'll find out.

I'd better try and sleep, we have to head out to Be'er Sheva tomorrow, Simcha has a dentist appointment. And then we have lot of shopping to do. And tomorrow night is the going away party. *Sigh* So much to do, so little brain to do it with.

I'm listening to Falco: Rock Me Amadeus

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06