Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Thursday - 2007-03-09

I'm grateful for: Knowing that Hans is in Hashem's hands; a fun and successful shopping trip; being up to the challenge when John was on a conference call and Eliyahu soaked everything.

I didn't get quite enough sleep. No surprize since we didn't get back from the airport until terribly late last night. Today after some minimal housework/maintenance we all - that is the six of us still living here - drove off to Kfar Saba to do some needed shopping.

Along with necessary things like food, I ordered to skirts from the seamstress we have dealt with before, and, well, I guess that was it for 'unnecessary' purchases. I do need the skirts, but ideally I would have waited 'til we have a bit more money available. But it's not like I get up there so very often. It's a two hour trip or more. I wasn't keeping that close track, but it was at least two hours.

Other good things, Zechy was able to buy a fairly large stack of books and The Marriage of Figaro on cd, which made him very happy. Havva got some t-shirts and 3/4 length sweat pants. We all had some really yummy ice cream.

Havva had to take off before we got to grocery shopping, but we were also able to fill a shipping cart for just under 700 shekel. A HUGE savings over shopping in our neck of the woods. I'm sure there have to be cheaper supermarkets somewhere in the Negev. How to find them is the question.

So we got home about 7pm our time, having missed the call from Hans & Diana saying they had met up and all. I phoned Diana's cell phone and talked to her briefly, talked to Hans a bit, then passed the phone around, got it back and talked to Hans some more, talked to Diana again, then Hans again.

I guess I don't even want to talk about it. My sister is an idiot and Hans isn't much better. Isn't that a terrible thing to say? But between them they haven't a single micron of common sense. If they survive this drive it will be an act of Gd, not due to anything either of them have done. *sigh*

John had a two hour conference call tonight during which Eliyahu popped a water balloon in his bed. I stripped the bed, got him changed and resettled in my bed, got his quilt in the dryer, and pretty well collapsed. I did end up putting his other bedding the dryer as well and sorting out the dirty laundry and getting a load of laundry in the washing machine. All in all quite a productive evening for me.

Zechy and I catalogued a bunch of books and a few movies we've added to the family collection. And John, Zechy and I watched a Honeymooners episode.

Havva went to visit a friend of hers, Marcie, who is in a rehab hospital. A terribly sad story, she had a brain bleed (best way I can think of to say it) and they couldn't stop the bleeding. I don't know what her condition is now vis the bleeding, but she is dealing with symptoms of a severe stroke, I guess. She's in her twenties and right now things don't look good.

Havva brought her a purim basket, which she then gave away to a mutual friend, who later gave it back to Havva, so she brought it back home again. But it made Marcie happy, which is what matters.

Apparently Marcie would like some audio books to listen to so I'm going to record some from Librivox for Havva to bring to her next time. If anyone has any prayers to say for Marcie (I don't even know her full name), I'm sure she can use all the help she can get.

A very dear friend wrote to me that she thought boys leaving home was much harder than girls. I can't tell yet if I agree with her, but I don't think either is at all easy. If/when Hans or Diana call to say they've safely arrived at Nick & Miriam's I know I will offer prayers of heartfelt thanks - before starting to worry about the next hair-brained thing they are doing.

Anyway, it is after 1am. I need to get some sleep. Our big dog, Balta, has been like a lost waif, she doesn't know where to sleep. And both dogs are missing Hans playing with them.

Dear Gd, take good care of him. Please.

I'm listening to Ginni Clemmens: I Met A Young Boy

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06