Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

The 'flu - 2007-03-29

I'm grateful for: feeling awful from the flu; many good books to read; my terrific kids.

After midnight, but not so much. I didn't sleep last night. Turns out the reason for my malaise was sudden flu onset. By three or four am I was so dizzy I had to hang on to the bed to keep from falling off while trying like mad to keep the popcorn that was the last thing I had eaten from coming back up. Spent the better part of two hours or so on the toilet as well. Add taking a quick shower, cleaning the shower and bathroom afterwards, and that was my night.

No sleep, and this morning a little better. I managed to eat and keep something down, not much. It looks like I can't eat cheese for the duration. Potato chips are good so far, as are pretzels. Very healthy eating, I know. Tomorrow for a little excitement I may try some mashed potatoes, oh joy!

Havva has swollen glands and a sore throat and headache and chills as well. I really, really hope I don't have to get all of that, too. And Passover is coming soon. Oy.

I watched an old Humphrey Bogart movie today - can I remember the name? of course I can't. I also can't remember the names of ANY of the actors that were in it with him. *sigh* I watched a Magic Schoolbus dvd with Eliyahu. I finished reading Echoes by Maeve Binchy. I hung on to things, and had a quick fight with John and a bath.

Hans called. He is not a happy puppy. Not all adventures are fun, and most aren't fun all the time. He was quite upset, I think. He never came right out and said so, but his voice sounded kind of ragged. I stayed on the phone with him until he was ready to get off. I couldn't fix anything for him, I couldn't rescue him. All I could do is listen, and tell him that I love him and I have faith in him.

It absolutely breaks my heart. He's eighteen, and all alone, and right now everything sucks for him. He's safe. He's staying at his grandfather's, working for him at his concrete business. He will be okay, everything will work out. Maybe I should have said all of that to him. I don't know. I don't know if I can/should call to talk to him. I would feel funny at best phoning my fil's house - I doubt I've ever rung him up in my life. Forget that, I know I haven't.

Anyway, for now I'm going to pray. How much easier it is to pray when it's for someone that you really love.

Now I'm going to try and lie down. Hopefully the bed will lie still, or not spin quite so fiercely tonight. I will say, though, that if I have to be that horribly sick it is much better to do it while everyone else is asleep.

I'm listening to Bob Marley: Get Up, Stand Up - from Rebel Music if anyone else knows the difference.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06