Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Trying not to fume - 2007-05-29

I'm grateful for: the kids being safely in Vermont; a good day with goats and chickens; getting the Harry Potter tapes copied.

It's after midnight. I got all the laundry done except for some towels, despite the fact that the washing machine still isn't working.

We have plans tomorrow to shop, and then to drive up to Ginot Shomron to help move some friends down to Jerusalem. We are very happy they are moving out, but not so happy about going to Jerusalem. I believe that John and I are the only people with a car who have volunteered to help them out. Says something about Ginot Shomron in my opinion.

Actually I expect driving into J'lem from Ginot again will be fun. It's a much pleasanter drive than driving from here to J'lem. But then we have to get home from J'lem. Ugh.

Probably eat out pizza for supper. I can't see us being home anywhere near in time, and I can't see trying to pack meals for the whole day.

We took Simcha to the dr. today, she has some kind of mites (?) in her hair? I'm guessing from the dr.'s extremely rapid Hebrew, he kept repeating the word 'mites.' He might have been aiming for lice, in which case we know she hasn't got. She's got a special shampoo to use twice a week until whatever it is is gone, anyway. There are so many fun and exciting types of health problems here that we never worries about or even thought of in the states. Whee, fun.

What was fun is that I got to the post office in Netivot for the first time. Mailed a couple of packages, one to England, one to the states, paid the arnona, and were told that somewhere in the area there is a package for us on a delivery truck. Somewhere. Oy. So we once again have to ask the neighbour who distributes the mail to please take care of it for us. Pain in the a**.

Last time I was in a post office like that was in Karmiel. I want to go back. I want to be able to go back. Problem is it is only wheelchair accessible by the longest, most difficult, almost unnavigable route. So that's not too likely unless I start being way better than I am now.

Feeding the birds and playing with the goats was also very fun today. Of course, that is usually fun.

Finally (!) got a phone call from Diana, calling from Vermont. Don't ask me why, but she waited until the kids were no where near her (the hiked in to our place there, while Diana parked the car at the logging camp) to phone us. It's a really good thing John was the one who talked to her, I doubt I could have stayed calm. Apparently they've been in Vermont for a couple of days already. Thanks for the news, Diana. And no one bothered to let us know.

Diana is talking about taking Zechy up to Newport to get him a learner's permit so that he will have a picture ID. Is this truly insane or merely whacko? Enquiring minds...

He has a PASSPORT for heaven's sake! What more ID can anyone need? I mean, really. It has his address in Vermont and everything.

I can't even think about it. I told John to tell Diana to tell the kids to phone, or at least email. Of course I asked Diana to tell the kids to phone or email Saturday night (our time) and you can tell what good that did me. I'm pretty furious right now.

At least they are up in Vermont (my kids, I mean), safely, and apparently are having a good time. I really can't wait to hear some of what has been going on - what the cabin looks like, how they found the road, how they like being there. You know, the stuff that if you are there you'd never have to ask about.

I have to stop typing/thinking about it. I am just getting more and more frustrated and angry. Diana gave John the extremely limp-wristed excuse that there isn't much cell-phone coverage in Vermont. Excuse me? There certainly is cell phone coverage in St. Johnsbury (where they are staying), not to mention a house phone there. And why did Diana have to wait until the kids were gone to call? I could just ...

Take a deep breath and change the subject. Which is to say that I am in pretty bad pain, and can't sit up any longer, so I guess that's it for tonight. Not fun reading, sorry. Better tomorrow, I hope.

I'm listening to the fan in the computer, the keys clicking, and not much else.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06