Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Heat wave and Harry Potter - 2007-07-25

I'm grateful for: being a little less tense, a little more at peace, even while I worry about it; the fast day being over; working airconditioning.

It's after 1am and I in theory have to wake up at 5am. I don't know if it is worth trying to get some sleep. That's not true. When I was younger it was true that sometimes no sleep was better than just a couple of hours, but no longer. I'll grab the two or three hours I might manage, and be better off for it, even though I will probably still feel like crap. Ah, well. It is supposed to be one of those peak heat days in a desert heat wave, so I wasn't going to get much done tomorrow anyway.

What I am doing is driving with John to the airport to hopefully pick Havva up from her return journey from the states. I say 'hopefully' because a general strike is supposed to start tomorrow. Havva's flight is supposed to arrive fifteen minutes before the general strike is supposed to start. So she actually has a shot of getting through without being affected (too badly) by the strike.

I have to say that, other than my daughter needing to get home, I am on the side of the strikers here. The histadrut (labour union) demanded a 10% pay increase for it's members. The gub'ment countered with 0.2% - a travesty all by itself but in addition the senior members of the gub'ment all received a 10% pay increase already. More importantly, the gub'ment has not budged on it's offer of 0.2%. I mean really! What is that, a cup of coffee? If the gub'ment had even tried a counter-offer that was somewhat reasonable ... *sigh* And our lovely PM has announced that he will do nothing to avert the strike - it is up to the finance ministry to sort it out. Basically saying it's none of his business. Excuse me? He IS the head of the bug'ment. Oops, that was actually a typo, but I'll let it stand. Bug'ment. Funny.

So after picking Havva up I have nothing planned for the rest of the day. Maybe sleeping. I need to dig out the book Living Without A Goal again. I feel a need.

I finished the new and last Harry Potter book. It was good. The author has done an incredible job, it is no small accomplishment to turn out seven books all of such high quality. Yes, some are better than others, but I can't think of many other series that last for as many books, or even less, that do not suffer a severe loss of quality. So, it's good. I have a couple of things I am not happy about, but I certainly don't have to write about that here. I'm glad to have read it, glad to have finished it, and look forward to reading the American edition Havva is bringing home to see what is different. Or perhaps just scanning it. I haven't got that much energy for rereading 600+ page books today.

The heat is, well, hot. It's not cooling off enough at night to make it bearable. That's the worst thing. I remind myself that these are the 'dog days,' and it won't last. It's still hard.

Must stop, my fingers and back are giving out. Good night.

I"m listening to my fan.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06