Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Feeling really awful - 2007-10-07

I'm grateful for: getting things accomplished; having my home back to (relative) normal; another day.

I feel so awful it boggles the brain, but there are a few things I really want to write down.

I finally got the shot. It was quite an experience. It came in this large and somewhat fancy plastic case, and included several extra parts to the needle. The nurse and someone else (another nurse?) read the instructions carefully, more than once. It seemed to be quite the process. There was a part to be screwed on, then the needle had to be held in a particular way for eight seconds while slowly depressing, not the plunger, but some other part which caused something to move and something else to (I assume) break and the amount of liquid in the needle was suddenly less than half of what it had started with.

Okay, some sort of chemical reaction obviously, but I couldn't tell you what or how. Then it had to be moved about in some other way, and the needle itself vibrated or lightly tapped until the liquid turned a milky colour. There was more, including that the needle it came in was for a subcutaneous injection but my dr. had ordered im - intramuscular. He also said I should have it in my rear - my gluteous maximus. I opted for my upper right arm anyway. I don't use my right arm much, but I certainly spend a lot of time on my backside.

The shot didn't really hurt, but I can't ever get a shot without remembering my wonderful Chinese dr., okay he wasn't wonderful in all things, but oh could he handle a needle. I barely felt it going in, and it hardly EVER hurt - even some of those really huge shots that make you sore for days afterward. So everyone else just pales by comparison.

We had a pretty horrible day really. I'm falling over with the 'flu, Zechy didn't sleep, nor did Havva, who was eaten alive by some sort of bug(s) in her room. John was tired but seemed otherwise all right. Simcha didn't want to be home alone, so after I got the shot John went back home with El'yah, leaving me to drive into Be'er Sheva with the other two. It was a success in that we got Havva's new prescription ordered (glasses), were able to get the flea&tick stuff for the dogs, picked up some necessary groceries, and in fact accomplished everything but one thing we'd planned on.

By the time we got home (me driving) I doubt any of us felt any more alive than the others. We spent the evening sitting around, reading Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead (we also got to the library) and watched another Columbo.

I *should* be asleep, what with being short on sleep and having the 'flu I feel very much sicker than I ever want to. But I haven't been able to fall asleep. There is a mosquito somewhere in my room, and the problems with stuffed and running nose just make falling asleep a huge problem. Not that anyone wanted to know about that.

Tomorrow John is to drive into Petach Tikva for work, unless he is also dead with the 'flu. I'm not really sure he should be going. He wasn't going to originally, but I had to cancel my appointment for a root canal (can't you hear me crying). So having the 'flu isn't all bad. ;-)

One of our houseguests left a backpack here, and a cell phone and a wallet with money. So that's another reason for him to drive to Petakh Tikvah.

Dammit, I feel so awful. Maybe I'll manage some more tomorrow? Hashem only knows.

I'm listening to Talking Heads: Lifetime Piling Up

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06