Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Why haven't I learned? - 2008-01-09

I'm grateful for: the gift of exercise; friends and family; having enough.

I wanted to write about the good things that happened today. Then I read the news. What is wrong with me? Don't I know better? So, I read the NYT piece about Sderot, focusing on one particular family in Sderot. I should know better. I think in some ways it's worse than others because it *seems* sympathetic. And there is sympathy for the sufferings of the individuals described.

I can't go on about this.

So, the morning was a bit of a blur. I did get up and go for about ten minutes on my bike - five minutes of actual exercise and the rest a bit of a warm up and cool down. Pathetic compared to some people I know, but for me such a treat. I only wish I didn't have to be so careful - I'd love to dive into it, riding the bike whenever the opportunity is there, but I have to be so careful. So, ten minutes in the morning and ten minutes in the evening today. Pretty cool, really.

Except that when I was riding the bike in the evening, TH was here, and kept making comments about it. If I can't exercise when he's in the house then he's just going to have to get out of the house. I have my priorities. It was really bothering me while he made the comments, but I couldn't figure out why, 'cause they weren't overtly insulting or anything. Afterward I figured out that the fact that he was commenting at all was not, is not okay. He swings his weights around and nobody has anything to say about that - why does my exercising, which after all is what we BOUGHT the bike for - need to be remarked upon, repeatedly, and at length?

So anyway, there was that, and we did, in the evening, manage to make some juice in the new blender. Carrots, apples, kiwi, yogurt and a banana. It wasn't great (the banana wasn't quite ripe and tasted it), but it was good. Better tomorrow, I'm sure. Also, we found (after making the first batch of juice), the book that I'd gotten juice recipes from before that I liked so much. So tomorrow I'll have a starting point, instead of just completely winging it.

The other thing that was different and happy was that we made a fire outside. D3 made a circle of rocks to have the fire in, and we had some paper and a couple of books, some wooden slats and a few chunks of wood from the yard, and we built a nice little fire. The kids managed to roast the mini-marshmellows in it (the only kind we had), and we just had a terrific time. TH came home while we were banking the fire, and putting out the last coals. So he missed almost all of it. I imagine that helped make is so nice for me. What can you do?

He's completely round the twist. So far round teh bend he can't see the curve in the road. He's not just three crayons short of a box, he can't find the box to put them in. And so on. Nutters. Completely off the deep end. He's been so for days, but I guess I am only just starting to accept that that is how it is, and let it go. He can be completely nutters, as long as he stays away from me. And I can tell him to stay away from me. THAT, at least, is one thing I have managed to achieve in the past several years of 'working things out.' It is NOT an ideal solution, or even a good one, but it's what I've got for now.

In any event, tomorrow he is going to work with S3, which means a lovely, quiet day at home. Just me and D3 and S2. And as of now we are caught up on the laundry, too. Wonderful.

S3 is spendng the day with his friend in Bareqet, a situation which has been working out beautifully. Actually we are all of us (S2 and D3 as well) looking forward to this quiet day. Barukh Hashem - let it be somewhat like we are hoping for. Mind you, we are hoping, not planning, so that should help? We can hope.

The only other thing worthy of note is that we have a guest spending the night. We're on one of those lists - for people who need a couch to sleep on for a night or three, and a young woman (girl to me) phoned us up from Be'er Sheva needing a place to crash. It seems she'd come down to Be'er Sheva for a job interview (?) and they wanted her back first thing in the morning, and there's no way she could've gone home and come back. So she's here, sleeping in D3's room (they seem to have hit it off). She's a fascinating person, speaks Russian and Hebrew and a bit of broken English. She's been all over the world, sometimes working for Greenpeace, sometimes just travelling. And she's younger than D2. Or at least looks younger, I didn't ask. Pretty cool, anyway.

I'm overheated and too tired - probably not making any sense at all. Enough. I wish all a very good day (or night I suppose). Be well and Gd bless

I'm listening to nothing much.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06