Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

The non-dentist visit and other significant events - 2008-03-14

I'm grateful for: being able to do a big, exciting, very full day; things working out, not always in any way I could have imagined; my wonderful dogs.

After not sleeping last night (sigh), I was up before I needed to be for the dentist. Just because I really didn't sleep last night - not even a couple of hours in the middle. Ah, well.

The trip to the dentist was a bust. It turns out the dentist (different one) who did the root canal split the tooth - so now I have to have the whole thing out. Which I would've been happy do and skip the horrible root canal experience in the first place. Anyway, I have a much better temporary filling in the now dead and split tooth, so eating is easier. Thank goodness!

I have an appointment for an appointment with yet another dentist on the 26th to do the extraction. As a result of which, TH and I have to change the day of our anniversary celebration. We usually go out the 25th for an overnight 'date.' This year we'll go out the 24th, which is still better than the first few years after we made aliyah, when we basically did nothing, and I certainly didn't feel that there was anything to celebrate in us still being together.

We also made appointments for cleanings for all of us, which is me and the four kids living at home. TH will make an appointment for himself whenever, if I'm lucky he'll let me know BEFORE he pays for it, so at least I"ll have some warning.

After leaving the dentist's office, we wandered down the street to the video rental place, and got three movies. I don't remember the names of any of them, one is a motorcycle movie, something silly with John Travolta and Morisa Tomei among others. Another has Judy Dench, and still another has a cast of many really great actors of whom the name that stands out for me is Maggie Smith. Having rented them based only on the names of some of the actors, we're really going potluck. I wasn't up to trying to figure out what they were from the Hebrew.

TH drove me home, turned around and went back to Netivot to get the write beams for S1's ceiling, then when he got home I went out with S2, D3 and S3 to shop. First grocery shopping in Be'er Sheva, then we went to Kenyone haNegev (big mall) and found a birthday present for TH (his birthday is the 23rd) and a jigsaw puzzle for shabbos.

After that we drove to Ashkelon, for more food shopping, D3 went to buy supplies for her jewelry making, S2 checked out a bookstore, and S3 looked high and low for a toy store that wasn't there. He was SO disappointed. We all went together to Ace Hardware, I wanted to check out paint for S1's room, and lantern batteries. Major disappointment, they had neither lanterns nor lantern batteries. What's with that? But I was able to get some needed office supplies, so I didn't need to go to Office Depot as well. A good thing, I don't want to think about how badly I was hurting by then. And an exercise tube. Looking forward to trying it out, I have found a bunch of recommended exercises which look good (as in, I can do them). I'm just not happy with the exercise bike, only because it does NOT give me a full body workout.

Back home again, supper was homemade falafel, yum. TH read some of Danny Dunn and the Anti-Gravity Paint, S3's current bedtime book. We watched the motorcycle movie. It was really stupid, but fun, and well worth what we paid for it. Which wasn't much, really.

I played on the small laptop while watching the movie, proving to myself it really is good enough to send home with D2. The laptop, not the movie. The movie was interrupted more than once. Our neighbour asked that we should leave the dogs out, as he wasn't going to be home, so that his horse would be protected. D1 phoned. She'd met with her mom and was a wee bit hysterical. Not very hysterical - it hadn't hit her yet. She still hasn't quite accepted that her mom simply isn't interested in mending the relationship. So nothing her mom said was a surprize, but it still has a bit of shock value. Like when her mom said that she (mom) felt that she (mom) was the injured party in all that has happened. For anyone who missed it, mom called the social services and reported that D1 was abusing and neglecting her kids, and has refused to let D1 visit them, while they are placed in her (mom's) home waiting for the state to give permission for them to go back home.

Speaking of which, I don't know if I wrote it here, that the social services people dropped all accusation of abuse and neglect against S1 and her husband and the kids' father (two different people), months ago, so the fact that the kids aren't home yet is the worst type of crime.

But anyway.

The other significant interruption was S3 who asked to be with me, so we stopped the movie (I would have let him be with me in the movie, but there was no way he could be in the family room, the dogs having got mud and dirt everywhere), and I went and sat in his room. He is so cute. As soon as I was in there he relaxed and fell asleep. It's nice to be needed like that.

So, now I'm still up at 2:17am, 'cause our larger dog was let out to go on 'patrol.' She's an Australian sheepdog, and need to be able to get out and patrol the neighbourhood. And I have to check and make sure that she got back in all right. I don't mind. In the meantime I've caught up on reading favourites. And my apologies for no comments, I'm just that braindead. And wrote to someone to let her know I'm a big girl now, and can look after myself, so she should try to concentrate on what she needs. Such a alien concept to some.

The bombs are back today. There were booms near Be'er Sheva from an army exercise, and quite a few that we could hear from home.

I wonder if anything I've written makes any sense to anyone besides myself, and if I come back to read this in a year or so if I will have any idea what I was writing about.

Well, Hashem is in charge of that. I'm going to go check on the large dog now, and then hopefully get some sleep since the dentist isn't looming over me tonight. Be well, all, and Gd bless

I'm listening to The Pogues: Once Upon A Time

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06