Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Crises, and life - 2008-03-26

I'm grateful for: a reprieve; nothing to dread for a while; hot lunch.

I couldn't write anything last night or this morning, I was too busy being terrified of the impending tooth extraction. Scared senseless, no, really.

I lost it at TH (yes, that stands for The Husband) in the car going to the dental clinic. He was being a real jerk - I'm terrified, so I'm supposed to spend my time and energy soothing his jangled nerves? I don't think so.

So, anyway, turns out I was completely right to be so scared. That is, if they had attempted the procedure, which the dentist had the sense not to. She looked at the tooth, asked me about my various problems: the M.S., and the fact that I don't respond well or reliably to the anesthetics, and the fact that it could take up to an hour to get all the bits out; and decided I should go in hospital and have it done under a general. Yeaaa! I haven't been so relieved in I don't know when. I swear, they should've just taken the tooth out when this all started, as I wanted them to. But you have to go through all of the procedures, I guess.

I know going under general anesthesia is not necessarily a good thing, but it is a much better thing then trying to keep my mouth open for an hour. I can't do it. *phew*

While we were at the dentist, D2 phoned about something (I don't know what), and D1 phoned, hysterical, from the states. S1 phoned to let us know about it.

As soon as we got back from the dental clinic, we (TH and I) phoned D1 back. It's not a real crisis, but it undoubtedly looks like one to her. So I made soothing noises, and we had to get off the phone because TH had to make a work related conference call. So now we are waiting to phone her back and make more soothing noises.

Basically, she was fired from her new job. *Really* not a crisis, as there are two other sources of income in the household, her husband, and the father of the kids. The other adult, now wife of the father of my grandkids, I believe also has some income, although I don't know all the details - none of my business. Anyway, D1 is telling me that is not all, oh, no, that is not all (Dr. Seuss anyone?). I am SO glad I am not in my twenties anymore completely losing it over each and every setback. I don't think I did then, either, but I do remember that every little setback (leave alone the big setbacks) was cause for freaking out.

So, slightly funny illustration of life in Israel. Going to the dentist today, there was no parking in front of the building. We drove around the back, past the supermarket, right next the the supermarkets loading zone (dock? I can't remember what it's called) there is a narrow, steep ramp to drive up to the additional parking for the clinic building.

Just as we arrive, a pickup truck pulls up onto the narrow steep ramp, and stops. The driver gets out of the truck, and stands next to his truck. If he would just get out of the way, our tiny sub-compact car could theoretically get past and up the ramp, in time for my appointment. The driver won't move. TH yells at the driver in Hebrew, the driver yells back, they yell at each other for a few moments, the driver isn't moving, John is insisting we need to get up the ramp.

While we are waiting (and TH yelling) another guy gets into a forklift and backs across the remaining space, completely blocking the ramp. TH gives up for the moment, and parks in the loading zone. This is where my crip placard comes in handy, of course it is unlawful to park there, but with the placard it is highly unlikely that we should get a ticket.

TH goes and get the wheelchair out of the trunk, puts it together (footrests come off), wheels it around to me and once I am in it starts pushing the wheelchair up this steep ramp past the truck and forklift. In the meantime, the truck driver and the forklift driver have gotten on a ladder, and both of them are hanging off the top of the ladder, doing something. Who knows what? Anyway, there they are precariously perched at the top of the ladder, as TH pushes me past in the wheelchair, and the truck driver hollers down do we want him to help push? :-) It's so Israeli it hurts. We had a bit of a chuckle afterwards, at the time it was just a huge headache, you know.

I'm going to eat lunch now, aruchat tzohorai'im, and cope with all the new family crises waiting for my attention. Be well, all, and Gd bless,

I'm listening to TH hollering to S2 - oy, they forgot to take the fax number to the office store. *sigh*

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06