Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Interrupted - 2008-07-03

I'm grateful for: being able to do more; strange banking practices that work out... somehow; learning to haggle.

So much happens in a few days, and I just can't keep up. I have photos, but not the time at the moment to get them up, they take longer than I'd like, I'm not really sure why, because they don't take long to upload, but there are so many steps... Whatever.

From the last entry, TH didn't end up going to work on Monday. I honestly can't remember the day part very well. I was tired. D3 had her riding lesson, which seems to have gone well and TH and I went out and did a little shopping, not a terrific night out by any means, we came home and went to sleep.

Tuesday we all geared up to go to the swimming pool, which was supposed to have family swim time - but it didn't. We arrived to find it all boys. TH and S3 went on in to the pool (S3 would have been too disappointed), and the rest of us (D3, S2 and I) went on home. We picked them up again in a couple of hours and then the rest of us went to the national park at Ashkelon.

The national park has the Canaanite Gate, which is the oldest existing arched gate. It's not still intact, but it's really obvious it WAS an arched gate, and no one has ever found one built earlier. It's been under wraps being fixed up so once it was officially opened we had to go see it. It was pretty cool. Unlike many antiquities, you can reach out and touch this one. Walk through and put your hands on bricks that are about four thousand years old. Pretty cool. There is more, and I took photos, so maybe I'll get some of them up. It was quite lovely, they did a nice job of fixing it up.

Once we were there we went to the beach. I don't know if I made it clear that S3 stayed home with TH, so it was S1, S2, D3 and I. We went out into the waves and it was quite wonderful. The undertow was fierce, so I sat down and let the waves wash over me and bat me around until I got too much salt in my eyes/face/mouth.

I went and sat in the shade and ended up being on the phone the whole rest of the time there, which was a major bummer. Friend MS had something to tell me, and then just *wouldn't* get off of the phone. The only way to get off would have been to hang up on her, and she's too good a friend to treat that way.

S2 and D3 came back up to where I was sitting telling me there were jellyfish everywhere. That was quite a surprize as there hadn't been ANY when I was out there. Apparently they had all just washed up at once, and they were all over the water in addition to being strewn up and down the beach. S2 got a minor sting, thank goodness it was minor. We left not long after, drove around the antiquities garden (water wheel, well house, columns, and other asstd stuff from the the Roman period among others I can't remember. No photos, Sorry).

We went home to discover that S3 had acquired a major sunburn. TH had slathered vitamin E oil all over him, and I sent him out to get some after-burn kind of cream. We were all (who had gone to the park) completely dead, paws up. S3 was allowed to stay up until he just about fell over, because I remember that being stuck in bed with a sunburn is just about the worst part. So he sat up with us and watched some Twilight Zone and an episode of Waiting For Gd. He went to bed after eleven and fell asleep almost immediately, thank goodness.

Then yesterday TH went to work, and we all lolled around the house, sunburned (mine is fairly bad, too), jelly-stung, aching from working at the stable, and so forth. A quiet day. Those two boys came over for about an hour, but S3 was getting upset so we sent them home. Short of sleep and sunburned, he was not up to the stress of a couple of difficult children.

TH brought D2 home with him from work, so we had a short visit which was very nice. Then TH, D2 and I went to meet with the landlord about buying the house. It was kind of fun, kind of difficult. He's an elderly Moroccan, and we WILL haggle.

I've been interrupted, in fact I wrote all of that a couple of hours ago, and now I have to run out the door. Will finish later.

I'm listening to the Chanukkah CD (I can't remember who did it, Israeli's anyway).

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06