Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

What a day - 2009-02-20

I'm grateful for: somehow surviving the day; even the crises are mostly good; getting better in all sorts of ways.

Still suffering from computer insanity. Tonight's 'cure' is I've borrowed a semi-working keyboard from another computer, and by working back and forth between it and the laptop keyboard I can type almost normally some of the time. Fun.

I don't know what I have to say - it was a difficult day. Too many demand on my poor weakened brain. Phone calls (multiple, and many) from D1, D2 and RS. I can't even remember them all, the several crises or big events. D2 has quit her job, is getting an offer for another one, passed an important test and made plans regarding coming down tomorrow. D1 has a new phone number, plans in the works for coming here (yes, she is still intending too. How about that?), kid headaches and last but not least the new wife of the father of D1's kids (have you followed that) went into the hospital today in labour. She was only about 7.5 months pregnant. Since they were originally concerned that she wouldn't be able to keep the baby this long, in some ways this is a win. Still, worrying and far from ideal. Any prayers you might want to send to Linda C., who is in hospital as of 5pm EST on Feb. 20 are appreciated.

I'm hoping to have news from D1 before sundown tomorrow, but who knows? I/we will just keep on praying.

RS, I can't remember it all. She told mother about her plans to move to Israel. Mother cried (no surprize there). Mother's final words to RS were to say that now RA would 'hate her.' I would say, only if mother makes her, but mother is awfully good at that sort of thing. I just can't remember what else - RS was looking for a copy of mother's marriage license and I was able to tell her in what state mother had married. RS had thought they got married in New York, which they did not. Why do I know these things and she doesn't? I suppose we probably won't know.

In addition to all of that, there were problems with the kids here, my door still doesn't work right, although I can actually close it with a doorstop now. Food shopping had to happen, and somehow S2 and I managed to do it.

S1 has taken on the job of tilting at windmills, arguing facts with anti-semitic a**holes online when for some reason he decides one of them might be vaguely open-minded or teachable. It's a fine thing to do and we all (Jews, Israelis, people with any sort of realistic awareness of history and anti-semitism, etc.) ought to take a stab at it at least once. But S1 takes it too much to heart, and the house rings with his howls and cries and head-bangings. I sympathize but only have so much energy and so much brain. I've done my head-banging (I hope, at least I am done for the moment) and I just can't summon the strength to deal with his.

On top of all of that I am living with a very difficult grody flashback. Difficult because it is 'you-are-there' in a big way. Talk to me and I might now know if today is in the 1990's or sometime nearer to the present. It is also 'you-are-there' in that I am feeling it, and the feeling is pain. Lots of pain. Too much pain for a body to cope with. Which is why I didn't cope with it back then, but shoved it aside, suppressed it, and now get to live through it as if it were happening now. It won't last - obviously it didn't last then and I survived. It makes it da*n hard to function in the present, though, and cope with D3's worries about her body (puberty is so much fun!), and TH's going nutty rather than coping with things, and, well, everything. Just a long, rather hard, not entirely bad day.

The air was horrible. A bunch of the Negev (unless it came from Jordan) rose up and filled the sky. Not even supposed to go outside and breathe if you can help it. Whee, fun.

The birds and beasts are well, the children are surviving, and probably thriving. TH hasn't caused anyone to want to kill him for about 24 hours (maybe a record), and despite everything I am in bed and hoping to be asleep before 3am. I somehow have enough money to pay for my acupuncture treatment tomorrow, and so life goes on and is generally good. Scary, but good.

Rain is forecast for tomorrow. Please pray for that, too. We're already projecting water rationing for the summer. Like I said, scary.

Okay, I must sleep. Good night all, be well and Gd bless

I am listening to Teresa Brewer: A Tear Fell

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06