Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Bad keyboard, no doughnut - 2009-03-07

I'm grateful for: the visit with Natan seeming to go well; whatever miracle got me moving this morning; getting to bed relatively early.

Another long day, a good day, I think. I woke up and couldn't move - this is nothing terribly unusual but I'd really wanted to get up and start doing laundry early, with it being seriously backed up and S2 still sick with the inner ear infection. I think I was awake an hour or two before I was able to do anything besides pray and try to fall back asleep. Something happened - I don't remember what - someone said something that I overheard, a dog started barking, something - and I was up and got into the bathroom and a load of laundry started just like that.

That was pretty cool, and I sat up doing some stuff on the computer, checking receipts or something, I don't recall that either, for a while, and playing Kingdom of Loathing, and I just couldn't keep my eyes open and lay down to take a nap. Only I didn't sleep, I lay there now feeling awake - tired but awake - and maybe twenty minutes later I got up, refreshed as if I'd had a good nap, and started taking care of things I could do. Not much in the body's current state, but I kept the laundry moving, got a quick shower, finally got a whole bunch of photos loaded onto the computer going back to August. I've been terrible about that.

I'm going to pay d'land for the privilege of putting some photos up here I think. I found dealing with the last photo server just impossible, as it could take all night to upload a couple of photos. Not worth it. At least that is the current plan. I guess I'll have to see what happens.

D2 showed up with Natan around 3pm, I think. They came in the house, quick hellos all 'round, then headed out to look at the goats and goat kids. Apparently Natan's friends have insisted he bring back photos. Whatever. I went out on the back landing and held one of the goat kids when S1 wandered by holding one. Our goats will let S1 or D3 or I hold the kids, but wouldn't let D2, whom they barely know. It was really nice sitting out in the warm shade holding a petting a week-old goat kid. Very cute, and with tiny little nubs of his horns just starting. I have to remember not to get too attached to him, because the most likely ending is that he will end up as someone's supper. And leftovers for a while as well. Sad, but true. What else can you do with a male dairy goat - question mark.

Natan has been here for maybe eight hours now. I don't know him any better than I did before, but D2 says he is really utterly exhausted, and I can remember days like that. A wedding last night, no sleep, driving all day, so D2 says we'll get to know him better tomorrow. At the very least he seems to take our clowning around reasonably well. That's important if you are going to be around our family.

TH and I are pretty well that tired ourselves. I did laundry all day (and finished all but one load of red, cold water stuff), and TH cooked all day. Lasagna, manicotti, lentil leek saute (it's a bean paste, really), tacos, potato salad, and so on. D3 oversaw and observed - necessary because TH tends to take short-cuts and be forgetful - at least - so if you want the food to come out as good as he CAN make it, then someone else has to be there keeping watch.

D3 also cleaned my room and the big bathroom, and S1 helped to clean S2's room, which is where Natan is sleeping. D2 is in D3's room, which I think pretty well guarantees that Natan isn't sneaking in, but I've no control over D2. She is an adult. I trust her to not be stupid. Not TOO stupid, anyway. I don't really have issues with my daughter having sex if she wants to, but was are so VERy fertile in this family. It's playing with fire. She's got three years of school to go.

S1 has made progress in getting into the Border police, which is something that he wants to do. He phoned the base and somebody answered, for a wonder. They NEVER answer. So it may be that I'll be getting a lot more space and time in my home very, very soon. Good and bad, it will be better for us as far as money, time, energy, but of course I will miss them, and who will help with the animals, especially if D3 falls sick - question mark. It may mean we have to give up the goats just as we are starting to feel like they are a part of the farm effort. *sigh* Not today's problem, but what can you do - question mark.

D1 phoned today, there was a court hearing today, and D1's mom&dad (adoptive parents, I'm the birth mother) won visitation from the judge who is giving them the kids two days a week. it's obscene, not that the mom&dad have visitation, but they took D1 to court suing for full custody, just because they wanted visitation. What kind of sick people do something like that - question mark. The mind boggles. Anyway, D1's latest is that she is definitely coming here with the kids, for an extended visit at least, (possibly to live) in the summer. I'll believe it when I see it, but I do so want it to happen.

I'm beyond falling over tired now. And the keyboard is getting worse. Obviously I'm managing, mostly, but it is not fun, it's a lot of work. I am not up for so much work. So for now, good night.

I'm listening to my fan, because it's summer here today and I couldn't survive without it.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06