Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Wonderful rain - 2009-11-03

I'm grateful for: a wonderful rainstorm; my hair clean and brushed out, on the mirpesset; making progress between my ears, that is, not being stuck in the same place, but clearly moving forward.

Tuesday morning/Monday night. I'm not sleeping yet but I think there is hope. I'm coping with stuff in my head that is hard to live with, but yet I'm not apparently ready to let go of yet. S2 got the news that he didn't get into the unit he wanted. I spoke to him briefly and he wasn't doing so badly. Later on when he called I didn't talk to him. I feel terrible about that, but I just didn't have it in me, and I really can't afford to fall apart any more thoroughly than I already have.

D2 just finished her first day of school. It was long, she was very tired, she got a lot of massage from her classmates - a blessing as her neck is so stiff she can barely move it. She expects this year to be a lot more fun that last year. That is very good news.

It rained today. Really, beautifully rained. I got to sit out on the deck and watch the storm clouds, and see a little bit of lightening and hear some thunder. I was all wrapped up in a ruana and wool lap blanket, and when a neighbour called out how are you? TH answered for me that I was sick. I am sick. I don't think it's very bad, but I have been running a fever and just feeling all tired out. That is above and beyond the all tired out from everything else going on. I think.

We have NO money. We have made a promise to ourselves, that is TH and I, that we simply won't spend anything besides on groceries for the next ten days. Groceries will be charged on credit cards. Not good, but what can you do? TH's employer owes us in the ballpark of 2000 shekel, money we had to spend on things that they are supposed to reimburse us for. That would get us over the hump nicely. As it is, everything we spend, even on a charge card, until the tenth of the month is a problem. *sigh* This too shall pass, and we are doing okay generally, this is just a momentary blip in the cash flow. *sigh*

I wish I could write here about some of the recovery-related stuff I've been going through. Maybe in a private entry. I can to that now. ;-) Will see what happens. Sometimes getting better is harder than staying sick. Except, of course, that getting better is better - in the long run.

I watched the movie @rmageddon today, D3 got me to put it on and I was sucked in almost immediately. It's kind of amazing how fun and good the movie is, still. I saw it in the movie theatre when it came out, and what I remember most is that afterward I could walk. All the spinning and disorienting stuff on the screen had done it's work, and added to my M.S. complete lack of balance, I could barely get one foot in front of the other without falling down.

One problem with the new car. The handicapped parking permit is issued (in Israel) only to a particular car with a given license number. Since we have a new car we have to get the parking permit changed to the new license number and all. Of course, they've changed the procedure since the last time we did this, and when TH asked so what am I supposed to do until we get this sorted out, he was told I'm just not supposed to use the permit. That's fine here on the moshav, and even not so bad in Netivot, but grocery shopping on Thursday requires it. Maybe we just won't go shopping. Then we won't spend money we don't have and we won't eat. Ah, there is a downside. I suppose.

Me, I wouldn't mind not eating so much, but I still have kids...

I forgot to phone D1 and make sure we are good for the video call with the grandkids tomorrow. I hope it will all work out. I'm feeling better for this than I did last week, so I'm really looking forward to seeing the kids. And checking out their hands. I'm hoping to get a better idea of the size of their hands so I can go ahead and finish mittens for them, rather than sending a pair to the states, and waiting for them to let me know how the fit is.

I tried to phone RS today, but no luck. I hope she was at work. Rather than unable to reach the phone, which sometimes happens.

She should get here already so I don't have to worry about her being immobile and with no way to get help.

The weather is just lovely. I love this time of year, just the start of the rainy season, when it's not too terribly cold yet, but the air isn't totally dry and dusty. We're lucky, too, it doesn't seem to flood here. There were some pretty bad floods further north, including a day care/kindergarten that was in-ground/underground that got flooded and the army had to go in to get the kids out. Scary.

I can't think of anything else insignificant to say, so I'm off.

I'm listening to the rooster crowing, the dog rattling a door, a cat on the roof, and all the other 'quiet' sounds of a country night.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06