Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Friday night as usual - 2010-02-13

I'm grateful for: my wonderful R. - Chinese medicine practitioner extraordinaire; a good day with a financial break worked in; good books; good friends; a wonderful family; it being warm enough I forgot to turn the heater on.

I have my regular Friday night malaise. I don't know what it is, but every Friday night I spend some time feeling rotten, sometimes *really* rotten, feeling sorry for myself, feeling lonely, and as near as I can tell the only reason for it is that it's Friday night.

Tonight was pretty good. The day was pretty good. TH got me up too early, but that was okay because I had to get up for an appointment w/my Chinese medicine practitioner. We made it out the door in good time. We made it to Tel Aviv in good time, even stopping to buy some sodas (Peps1 and Spr1te in small glass bottles). Took money out of savings 'cause we were having a cash flow problem (read that 'were.' Yes!)

Appointments went well, both RS and I had one. D2 joined us after finishing a test on pathology. TH phoned the bank to transfer money to D2's account - something we do every month. While on the phone with the bank, the customer service rep. offered TH a loan to consolidate all of our outstanding debt into on lump sum with a monthly payment that is *way* less than half of what we were paying. No argument here! But we were still at the clinic, so it had to be deferred.

We decided to go straight to Netivot from there, rather than to try and do any shopping in Tel Aviv. Stopped at the highway rest area (there is one between Tel Aviv and the end of the highway), where TH ended up calling the bank back and we arranged the loan. Not only that but they offered to loan us a bit extra so that if any outstanding charges come into the bank in the intervening time - about two weeks 'til my unemployment hits the bank - we won't end up in the red. Cool!

In Netivot we couldn't park in the crip parking because both spaces were in use, so RS waited in the car and TH, D2 and I shopped, ending up buying a lot of treats such as some Ben & J's ice cream, four boxes of frozen raspberries, apple and cinnamon pastries from the bakery ... Nah, I'm not rushing off to spend all of that money we now have, not at all. ;-7

Back home I rested, but spent a really good afternoon/evening with family, talking, reading silly things out of Godel, Escher, Bach aloud to each other. Reading aloud to S3. Playing with dogs and Kitten, chatting with D3. I ate okay, not great but as well as I ever manage on a Friday when we always have too much sugar junk.

A good day. And the Friday night malaise. It's what I call it.

Hopefully I'll be doing better tomorrow. Or I'll sleep all day. Or something. I'm going to try to sleep now. It's only 2:30am - making progress. I hope.

I'm listening to a quiet house. Lovely.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06